DUSA Annual Award Winners 2015

May 18, 2015 | DUSA The Union

On Saturday 16th May we hosted our DUSA President’s Dinner and Annual Awards Ceremony. It was a fantastic evening which commended the hard work of all our societies, media outlets and SRC Councillors. Congratulations to all those nominated for an award and a special congratulations to all the winners!


SRC Councillor of the Year

Winner –  JB Fyfe


School President of the Year

Winner – Shauna Donaldson


Media Contributor of the Year

Winner – Jenny Boram & Jenny Thomas


Media Newcomer of the Year

Winner – Dimitris Kalogiros


Best New Society

Winner – Mental Health Society


Most Progressive Society

Winner – OpSoc


Most Active Society

Winner – International Society


Best Society Event

Winner – Charity Week Islamic Society


Best Society

Winner – Physics Society


Society Achievement Award

Winner – Thalea Turowski


Volunteer of the Year

Winner – Mohamed Elseedawy


This year the DUSA Executive introduced a new and very special award which won’t be awarded annually but instead will only be given if there has been a student who has been particularly impressive during their time involved in DUSA. This award is to recognise an individual who has went above and beyond in their commitment to the organisation and is for an individual who has not just been  involved in a society, media outlet or the SRC but someone who has actively been involved with all aspects of DUSA.


This year the winner of the Outstanding Contribution to DUSA award is Niall Christie.